PDA

View Full Version : LFA7T

Lossie23
25th Jul 2015, 15:08
Hi all,
With the relatively small size of LFA7T (considering how much ground you can cover in a GR4!) there must be regular routes flown by past/present users of it. Am looking to try and find some new locations for low level photography in LFA7T. Had a look on the map and was wondering if Llyn Brianne Reservoir in south Wales is flown over much and if so from what directions?

I have been shooting low level for 10 years and know all the main routes Mach Loop, Dunmail, Moffat Valley, M6 Pass, Star Wars Valley etc and have done most of them (some many times) though like to try new locations as for me going to the same places gets stale. I know all the usual caveats no guarantees etc but have in the past researched locations purely by using good judgement and looking at likely locations on a map - with some success though not always in these days of a smaller air force.
Having done a lot of fly fishing in the past I view low level photography the same way, love the scenery and relaxing in a stunning location - some days you get lucky others you catch nothing so don't mind giving a new location a go. However, every fisherman prefers a day when they catch! Thus the reason for this post so was wondering if any past or present aircrew can advise if the location I mentioned above is used or suggest any other valleys (ideally not too wide) that are regularly used in LFA7T.
Just to put anyone's mind at rest I am NOT trying to arrange anything/flybys. I would pick a random day when I have time off and try a valley and see if I get lucky. However, as some valleys are rarely if ever used it would just be nice to know if there is at least some reasonable chance of getting some traffic in the valley I have mentioned or any others in LFA7T.

Easy Street
26th Jul 2015, 12:42