PDA

View Full Version : RNZAF minimum NCEA results

Spanners Watson
24th Mar 2015, 03:51
Hello

I'm new to pprunne so bare with me.I recently applied for pilot in the RNZAF however only having IGCSE O levels and a PPL I do not meet the minimum requirements.Therefore I am after some advice as I am already 27 yrs old is it to late to go back and study to make up the marks to join,or am I better off just paying for and completing a Diploma of aviation through a flight school.
Also if I did go back to study NCEA does any one know of preferred places to undertake the study and what kind of time frame this would take.

Any information or guidance would be greatly a appreciated.

Thank you

ozziekiwi
24th Mar 2015, 23:59
Nobody wants to ""BARE"" with you but of course we could ""bear"" with you !!!

Cheers and Good Luck !!

Ozzie Kiwi :cool:

baron_beeza
25th Mar 2015, 02:01
I joined at 23 years of age and I was the old man at the pre-selection stages. There were a couple of pilots I can recall joining about the same time as older men but they both had CPL's and had been flying commercially for a time.

Times may have changed but you may have missed the boat in some respects and that is just to get to the interview stage. Did someone give you a strong indication that you would be considered if you managed to gain minimum education levels ?
I would have thought your option 2 would be a goer though as if you are prepared to study it will be at least on aviation related topics and heading in the right direction.
There is no minimum education level in GA, you just need to pass the CPL exams.
No-one cares, or asks, what you got up to at school.
I met one Boeing 737 pilot that said he used to be a policeman and only started flying when he was in his 30's.

MetGirl
25th Mar 2015, 03:38