PDA

View Full Version : Career Change - Who's done it?

AlwaysAviating
21st Mar 2015, 06:16
I'm currently an undergraduate studying at a good UK university in a non-science related degree with a good internship lined up for next year, I'm set to graduate in 2017, I will have just turned 22 at this point.

My plan is to complete my degree and get some flying under my belt privately, also take a class in the Aerospace Engineering department at my university in my final year if possible, hopefully in ground and flight training and try and apply for some PPL scholarships too. After graduation, I hope to find a decent job related to my degree (it has a broad range of options so I'm hoping there will be a few options out there for me).

In an ideal world, I intend to save some cash from a job and apply for any sponsored programmes if there are any around the 2017/2018 time. Obviously with these being so competitive, it may not be so likely.

There may become a time in my life when I decide enough is enough and just decide to fund my whole CPL/fATPL training and then try my best at direct-entry. But the tricky thing is, deciding when that time is "right". At what age should I seriously be thinking about pursuing my commercial training? I'd love to hear stories from others who had a career change and made it onto the flight deck!

hazholmes
21st Mar 2015, 20:18
I'm 27 and after 8 years in construction am thinking of making the career change. I don't think there's a particular time when you should do it, thats entirely dependant on your personal circumstances, it's more do with with trying to coincide your training with any potential upturn in hiring for low houred pilots.

Personally I'm taking some higher education part time to act as a backup and potential buffer where I can return to work if needs be and I think you are wise in studying to act as the same buffer if you should need it