PDA

View Full Version : Learning to glide - what's it all about?

wannabeglider
13th Mar 2015, 22:01
I am looking for a new hobby. Flying has always been something I want to do but it's always been so expensive. I have been looking at gliding as it seems reasonable in price and pretty interesting.

I don't know that much about it though. My nearest club is London Gliding Club (in dunstable). I have heard it is mainly the older generation that glide as it requires a full days commitment (as being retired they have more time). Is this correct? I could spare full days now, but in the next few years I probably will not be able too (I'm an apprentice and my job is only going to get more complicated!).

Also how long does it take to be able to fly without needing an instructor? I see videos of people going on holiday to places like Austria to glide an it looks amazing!

Any advice/ info?

Flying Lawyer
13th Mar 2015, 23:20
If you move quickly, there's still time to apply for a Gliding Scholarship which provides membership of a BGA gliding school of your choice and 20 winch launches which could take you to at least first solo.

Closing date for receipt of applications is 17 March 2015.

See here for more details, a downloadable application form and descriptions by last year's winners of what is involved : Gliding Scholarship Applications Open! | Young Air Pilots (http://youngairpilots.org/2015/01/30/gliding-scholarship-applications-open/)

old10ge
13th Mar 2015, 23:21
Thats a real big question wannabe and if you really want to find out then your best bet is to go and have a look at the operation as all clubs operate slightly differently.

Initially you could have a look at the London Gliding Club website and see what their rates are.

And though it may appear to be an old folks sport it certainly is not and we have a big Junior movement with solo pilots as young as 14 and the Junior classification continues up to the age of 25.

Best of luck.

Benjybh
14th Mar 2015, 04:14