PDA

View Full Version : ADF Navy pilots...Fast jets?!

lightningstriker
10th Feb 2015, 08:20
Hey all I am a wannabe pilot with a question. While I am in the selection process to be an ADF pilot, I want to know if anyone has any experience or heard of Navy pilots being stolen by the RAAF at completion of 2fts to become fast jet pilots? Since the RAAF is always short of them (fast jet pilots) and the fact that they do the same training up to wings standard before RAAF pilots start fast jet conversion training. Thought I'd throw it out there as I'd be interested to know for my preferences into the forces.

Thanks everyone,

Die hard wannabe!

Minnie Burner
10th Feb 2015, 09:24
It doesn't happen. Oh, hang on:
Profile: Australian Defence Force Chief Air Marshal Mark Binskin - ABC News (Australian Broadcasting Corporation) (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-04-04/adf-chief-air-marshal-mark-binskin-profile/5366986)

OK4Wire
10th Feb 2015, 10:01
Binnie wasn't stolen. He (and others) joined the light blue after the A4s were sold to the Kiwis.

ol-mate
10th Feb 2015, 10:22
There has been one quite recently, service transfer was required though.

Skymong
10th Feb 2015, 13:22
Yes; if you perform well enough at 2 FTS chances are you will get an offer for jets.

dat581
10th Feb 2015, 19:10
I think the story was in Australian Aviation a year or two ago. A Navy midshipman was dux of the flight training course and was offered fast jets.

dostum
11th Feb 2015, 07:11
It happens all the time. Much to the Navy's chagrin. Really strong Army students have also been offered fast jet.

lightningstriker
11th Feb 2015, 07:29
Thanks for the replies everyone :) Handy to know!

dat581
11th Feb 2015, 09:18
With the off chance the Navy will one day have fast jets again that may change.

Nock187
11th Feb 2015, 09:36
Tell a funny story during my final stage RAAF pilot/ADFA interviews many, many years ago now (although didn't end up making the cut in the end).