PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice for Flight Test Engineering

jezbro
8th Jan 2015, 00:01
I am currently studying mechanical and aerospace engineering at UQ and plan on being a FTE when I graduate (end of 2016)
I'm currently acquiring my PPL to help with employment and for personal interest; but I'm currently struggling to find companies that do FTE work in Australia.
Does anyone perhaps have some insight on how I could get my foot in the door to get a junior position to gain experience? I enquired with Nova Systems but they said they do not take on graduates - are there any other companies that are notable? Perhaps someone who was once in my position could explain how they went through the process?

djpil
8th Jan 2015, 00:50
I've dabbled in FTE over the years but my career path is very out of date. So just one comment about a young engineer I know who started off somewhat like yourself and who is now working as a full-time FTE overseas, probably about 10 years after graduation. Persistence and with that goal always in mind gave progressive small but steady steps in a career progression towards it. Plus the course at ITPS in Canada - there are others.
I am sure that others will pop up with advice for some-one with a non-military background if they can be enticed away from the flight test forum.
Avalon at the end of February is a good opportunity to connect to people about this.

CAR42ZE
8th Jan 2015, 09:37
Nova don't take on graduates? that's strange - I thought they did. Anyway, do a google search on CASR21M companies and have a look at them - but also keep some of the other Defence engineering crowds in your sights (BAe is the only one that's jumping out at me right now, but there are a few more).

Dagegen
8th Jan 2015, 10:46
After finishing aero eng., I went overseas. Obtained a design authorisation in my company, amongst other qualifications/licence. Have done a fair amount of work in certification, mostly as PM.