PDA

View Full Version : Boeing EICAS question....

sunbird
13th Aug 2014, 00:55
Hello!

I've got a quick question about Boeing EICAS systems. As a former Airbus pilot, I'm curious as to the functionality of the EICAS when compared to an Airbus ECAM.

For example, should an engine fail at takeoff, the Airbus ECAM will provide the necessary steps to be completed to secure the engine and put out a fire if necessary. Does a modern Boeing EICAS provide the same level of guidance or does the crew perform memory items and consult the QRH.

Many thanks for any clarification.

Mecaniquito84
13th Aug 2014, 01:34
B777 and B747-8 although not using exactly an EICAS system as B767, display different check lists for normal and emergency events. Out of memory, you should select desired check list, for normal events. For abnormal an emergency events, check lists would be displayed automatically and other difference, one of the pilots should check mark each item after completion to be allowed to jump to the the other only if the system receive confirmation from a/c systems that required actions like to close a fuel s/o valve, was comanded and took placed
No such capacity for B762 & B763 EICAS, don't know about B764

sunbird
13th Aug 2014, 03:03
Thanks mate!

Exactly what I was looking for. Does anyone know how B737 NG's operate with regards to the EICAS and emergencies?

c100driver
13th Aug 2014, 03:47
I think you may be confusing EICAS and the ECL.

EICAS only tells you a master warning or caution statement.

For the B777 you then select the Electronic Checklist on a MFD. Some checklist open up at the top item and some have to be selected from the ECL. For example the Engine Failure checklist will open when the ECL is selected to a MFD but a severe damage checklist needs to be selected from an option list from the ECL.

Mecaniquito84
13th Aug 2014, 04:18
Much better and clear explained in smart cock, b777 flight instrumments, chapter 10.50