PDA

View Full Version : How much do you earn??

sheflies
1st Jun 2014, 05:10
Hi everyone. I am a flying instructor in NZ, working 5 days and averaging about 12 flying hours a week plus about the same theory/briefing hours. I'm earning around $220 a week which equates to about $10k-$12k a year. I don't get a retainer or any sick/holiday pay. I believe I could earn more overseas... can anybody help me out by letting me know what they earn??? Especially any Australian instructors as I'm thinking of moving there. Thanks so much! Sarah x

exeng
2nd Jun 2014, 00:05
I believe in the UK FI's are doing it for nothing now in many cases - not good news. In other words it has ceased to be a professional job and is now a means of hour building only.

Look for standards to drop from now on.

Kind regards
Exeng

portsharbourflyer
2nd Jun 2014, 01:28
Not quite nothing, but close to it.

It does vary but in the UK most schools pay around £15-£20 per hour based on flight time only for PPL training. Some pay a small retainer but most don't.

sapperkenno
2nd Jun 2014, 05:44
£25-£30 per flying hour, no retainer. Northern UK.
Particularly bad week maybe 0-4 hours, good can be upwards of 20.

dobbin1
2nd Jun 2014, 06:12
£25 per hour (t/o to l/d + 0.2). £20 when restricted, £30 for aerobatics. No retainer.

South East UK

taybird
2nd Jun 2014, 06:33
Working one day per week, I was earning around £300 per month, give or take.

zondaracer
2nd Jun 2014, 06:51
At an ATO in Spain, pay was €800 per month net, full time. Went to the US and net around $2000 to $3000 depending on weather and student load.

sheflies
23rd Jun 2014, 02:59
Thanks so much for all of your help! It's good to gauge the amount people are earning & figure out where to next in terms of employment. I think I'll try for Aus.. seems they get about three times the money we get here in NZ.

Thanks again!:ok:

172_driver
25th Jun 2014, 10:42