PDA

View Full Version : Recording flight time app/tips

Flyting
3rd Mar 2014, 19:11
So I'm new to flying in EASA land and up until now have always referred to the hobbs meter for recording time for my logbook. I've never had to record the start/stop time before now and was wandering if there is any app out there or tips from you local flyers used to doing it from the beginning???
I am a single pilot in a helicopter doing underslung work so taking my hands off to write down something is not ideal.
Bear in mind I now need the start/stop times and lift/land times.

thechopper
4th Mar 2014, 12:45
Flyting,
start/stop should be easy to jot down; why would you need lift and land? Would not number of lifts suffice if you are not shutting down in between. :confused:

Wageslave
4th Mar 2014, 13:20
Why do you need to record start/stop times? There's no requirement for that, just flight time, surely?

jellycopter
4th Mar 2014, 13:51
Wageslave,

In EASAland, flight time must now be recorded from rotor start to rotors stopped. Bizarrely, actual flight time doesn't come into it.

By making such a ruling, EASA have effectively reduced the flying experience requirements for licences and ratings by between about 5 and 15% depending upon required warm-up and shutdown times.

JJ

Wageslave
4th Mar 2014, 14:06
JC, OK, I understand logbook time is rotor start-stop. I got the impression the OP was talking about recording time of day for each start/stop event as opposed to elapsed time. I fly with a lot of FOs who are twitched about recording clock times merely because some logbooks have columns for this (why??) but surely there isn't a requirement to do this - is there?

Do engineers trained for ground runs claim flight time then? Or pilots doing ground track and balance runs? Bizarre!

Flyting
4th Mar 2014, 18:52
some logbooks have columns for this
this is a reason...:\