PDA

View Full Version : Corrected Club Foot and flying?

LoganJ
26th Feb 2014, 12:33
Hello,

I'm currently in my final year of GCSE's, aspiring to be a pilot as a career, either commercial or military (I have career plans for both, should I decide which one I really want to go for). However, there's a bit of a problem. I was born with club foot on both of my feet, but it was corrected when I was 7 years of age, and I am in no way disabled at all by it, nor am I undergoing any treatment/therapy. It affects me in no way.

Do you think this will prevent me from achieving my Class 1 Medical, assuming there are no other problems?

One final thing - I have emailed the RAF twice, and visited an AFCO once, and none of them can give me a straight answer about it. I know it says on their website that club foot prevents me from joining, but for me, it's a case of had. I'm confused as to whether or not the medical conditions listed on their website are for if you are currently affected, or had it at all. I'm hoping that providing I can pass their fitness test, they'll make an exception.

RatherBeFlying
26th Feb 2014, 21:23
Can't say for sure as it works differently in Canada, but I checked with a Transport Canada regional medical office for a friend with a withered arm. The doctor said that a medical flight test would be required.

I took him up on a flight and let him fly once at altitude to see how he got on -- quite reasonably.

He then went off to a local flight school to start lessons, told the instructor he was working on his flight test (leaving out the word medical;) ) and did the taxi and takeoff. The instructor clued in sometime after rotation:\:\ so do be careful about saying medical before flight test if that's what you're talking about.

If you phone an aviation doctor in the UK, he will be able to give better information.

LoganJ
27th Feb 2014, 09:02