PDA

View Full Version : Why must I have a slip and turn indicator?

Flying Ted
13th Feb 2014, 07:06
I'm currently studying up for my CPI. Today we were discussing the minimum equipment requirements as per CAO 20.18.

Appendix 1 tells me in need an air speed indicator, altimeter, compass and as accurate time piece for PPL flights. If it is charter flight I need to add a turn and slip indicator and outside air temperate indicator.

Can any one tell why I need a slip and turn indicator? All the other items make a lot of sense to ensure a safe flight but I can't see why the logic behind the slip an turn.

Jack Ranga
13th Feb 2014, 07:17
Just in case you are turning or slipping & don't know about it :ok:

VH-XXX
13th Feb 2014, 07:40
Why must I have a slip and turn indicator?

So when you inadvertantly enter cloud you will be able to do a coordinated 1 (or 2) minute turn back to where you came from.

Typically in an *old school* configuration, eg 90% of Cessna's, T&B / T&S indicators are powered electrically to go with the vacuum powered AH & DG to give you a level of redundancy in the event of an engine or vacuum pump failure. A *good* pilot could happily fly through cloud on the T&B in the event of an AH failure.

Ixixly
13th Feb 2014, 07:59
As XXX said, redundancy is why. Private Flight if you decide to not have one or fly with it Inop then that's your prerogative and you're life that gets put at additional risk if something should go horribly wrong, but in a commercial environment it would be considered unacceptable to not have such a simple and basic piece of equipment not installed and working, admittedly though they are a lot more expensive than I had imagined!!

Centaurus
13th Feb 2014, 08:41
A *good* pilot could happily fly through cloud on the T&B in the event of an AH failure.