PDA

View Full Version : Advice for job seeking after CPL

Black_Knight
19th Jan 2014, 23:33
Hi all, I've been lurking for a few weeks reading up on much of the forum lots of solid advice out there.

I've been wanting to fly professionally for a long time but delayed training due to starting a family and all the fun and games that come with that.

My ultimate goal is to fly for the airlines on major domestic routes. (not sure about international long haul lifestyle)

I've spent the past 7 years building skills and experience in IT as my backup career\ method to fund training and I'm finally in a position to fund a modular training approach without selling my kidneys.

The question is, what sort work is available or best to look at to build hours earn a little bit of cash and is reasonable to apply for with a fresh CPL.

are there any common part time jobs that could be worked as a second job on weekends either paid or volunteer for (ie i dont have to pay for plane hire but build PIC hours).

Im looking for advice specific to the melbourne area, apart from the 4 airports in the area the wife wants to move there for her work too (and canberra is a bit boring after 20+ years.)

RTN11
20th Jan 2014, 00:45
Don't know what the market is like in Australia, but if you already have a wife and kids then flight training is no way to keep them. I've seen many a happy marriage end 2 years after the husband finishing his CPL and not finding a meaningful job.

It's a pretty selfish move to make, so you need to have your families full support, as you may well find yourself basically unemployed for up to 5 years, a tough situation to be in.

Black_Knight
20th Jan 2014, 00:50
Hi RTN,