PDA

View Full Version : CPL-H +IR+ATPL Exams

TimTooWindy
14th Jan 2014, 09:41
In Nov 2004 I completed my JAA ATPL-H theory examinations and qualified as a CPL-H in June 2005{No IR}. To date I have been a VFR pilot but would like to aim for a career in the North Sea{Min Req- CPL-H +IR+ATPL exams}.

Firstly, I need to pass the 4 exams below so I can qualify for my IR training.

CAP 804-Section 4-Part L Appendices: 4.2 states the following:

4.2 An applicant for an IR(H) having passed the relevant theoretical examinations for an

ATPL(H) VFR is required to pass the following examination subjects:

– Air Law

– Flight Planning and Flight Monitoring

– Radio Navigation

– IFR Communications

However, after contacting the UK CAA to verify my course of action I was quoted Section 4 Part L 3.6.

3.6 An applicant for an ATPL(H) with an IR(H), having passed the relevant theoretical

examinations for a CPL(H) is credited towards the theoretical knowledge requirements

in the following subjects:

– Principles of Flight (Helicopter)

– VFR Communications

I have passed the 13 ATPL-H exams rather than the CPL-H exams?. Does the CAA response mean that if I want to pursue a North Sea career I will need to resit all of the ATPL-H theory except P of F and VFR Comms?.:ugh:

Any feedback is much appreciated. Thanks in advance

TTW

Bravo73
14th Jan 2014, 10:43
Paco is probably the best person to ask.

Essentially, your ATPL exam credits have now expired (it being 9 years ago, without an IR). Under the old JAR system, the number of exams that you would've had to retake would have depended upon the JAR Amendment that was currently in force when you first say your exams. I suspect that you might have got away with just retaking the IR exams.