PDA

View Full Version : Severe electromagnetic storm impact on commercial A/C in flight!

Jetpipe.
1st Nov 2013, 15:26
I don't know if this has been brought up before but what impact would a i.e. severe solar storm have on commercial aviation in flight? I guess everything electrical shuts down but how about the engines, ignition, EECs or FADECs? I guess since fuel control goes via these Electronic control units, if they shut down then fuel flow also shuts down? Does that mean we will be flying gliders on standby instruments if this happens? :confused:

flarepilot
1st Nov 2013, 18:58
dear jetpipe

have no fear...watch this and learn:

Dead Reckoning (1955) Science Fiction Theater. James Craig, Steve Brodie CLASSIC TV EPISODE - YouTube

DozyWannabe
1st Nov 2013, 19:08
I'm far from an expert, but I would think that the shielding and structural conductors should be enough to prevent serious mishap. Worth remembering that scheduled Concorde flights were subject to a greater degree of solar radiation day-in and day-out for 27 years with no extra untoward effects.

Ian W
1st Nov 2013, 19:27
It might prove more interesting if it was a Carrington Event Solar storm of 1859 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solar_storm_of_1859#Carrington_Super_Flare)

These flares give the equivalent of an Electromagnetic Pulse but lasting for a longer time. Not sure what the effect on aircraft electrics would be the last time it happened there were no electronics to be upset.

DozyWannabe
1st Nov 2013, 19:54
@Ian W:

Useful summary here:
A Super Solar Flare - NASA Science (http://science.nasa.gov/science-news/science-at-nasa/2008/06may_carringtonflare/)

In short, it seems that satellites and broadcast communications may be affected by a Carrington Event, but shielded electronics of the kind used on aircraft would have a reasonable degree of protection.