PDA

View Full Version : CPL/IR useless?

Transsonic2000
25th Oct 2013, 22:45
I'm currently involved in a distances learning course, doing the conversion (FAA CPL/IR into EASA ATPL frozen). At the moment I'm preparing to complete what's called "phase 1" which means the school internal test for CPL/IR level. Afterwards there would be additional studying for the second phase which would conclude in taking the final and real EASA ATP exams.

Due to unfortunate events in my personal life it looks like it might not be possible to continue with "phase 2" (EASA ATP exams) and only go for the EASA CPL/IR instead.

My question now is, what can or could I do with only a (EASA) CPL/IR? I mean I'm not a complete novice in the aviation branch, and to my knowledge, especially here in Europe, a CPL/IR without the ATP knowledge credit is pretty much useless?!

I'm thinking about going to get my EASA instructor license (if possible, can't tell now). Would it be possible to make a living as an instructor here in Europe, with a CPL/IR only? Furthermore, I believe additional studying and exams would be indicated as well to get the FI license, which wouldn't be the case if I'd have passed the APT exams?

Advice appreciated, thanks for reading this!

paco
26th Oct 2013, 04:52
You only require CPL knowledge to become an instructor - you don't actually need a licence issued. If you intend being a captain on the big stuff, then the CPL/IR is useless, but there are plenty of people with CPLs enjoying themselves with good jobs. You can fly as captain on reasonably large machines with one, but that's not the issue. I remember parking up next to a long row of DC 10s in Canada (shows my age) in my DHC2 (Beaver) and there were a lot of aircrew who came to visit and said they wished they could swap places.

Transsonic2000
26th Oct 2013, 19:00