PDA

View Full Version : Another FAA TO EASA question

lorbak
20th Oct 2013, 10:28
Hi everybody ,
I'm an airline pilot with FAA ATPL and about 2000 hrs on ERJ170/190.
I'm getting ready to undertake the process of getting my ATPL converted into that EASA one. Reading through the law I understand I can get some exemption on the ground training part. Like I don't have to sit in ground school classes.
I figured out, and please let me know if I'm wrong that the steps I have to take are as follow:
- pass 14 knowledge tests
- get a first class medical cert
- pass a skill test on the simulatorERJ170

My question is:
Can I do this all process on my own or do I need to go through an ATO?
Can I self certify in order to book a knowledge testing session or do I still have to be presented by an ATO?
Do I need to get my first class medical before taking the knowledge tests or can I do all the theoretical part and then get the medical before the skill test on the sim?

Thanks much in advance to anyone taking the time to answer my questions

zondaracer
20th Oct 2013, 14:08
You can self certify without an ATO and you can do the medical before or after exams but highly recommended that you get the medical done before attempting anything.

lorbak
20th Oct 2013, 14:11
Thank you zondaracer, I appreciated your info

Grumbler
20th Oct 2013, 17:12
You can't do the 14 ATPL exams (UK CAA) if you are not enrolled with a school/ATO Everybody needs to apply for the exams through a approved school, but you can do the studying as distance learning.

zondaracer
20th Oct 2013, 20:08
Not correct Grumbler. An ICAO ATPL holder with 500 hours on a multi crew airplane plus meeting the the requirements for an EASA ATPL does not need to be enrolled with a formal ground school and may self certify for the ATPL exams, even in the UK.

RedBullGaveMeWings
20th Oct 2013, 20:56
Multi-Pilot Aircraft Type Rated Pilots