PDA

View Full Version : WikiAirports.com

philippevd
26th Aug 2013, 19:48
Hi folks,

I'm a private pilot who loves to travel on holiday with my plane (who doesn't?). One of the main difficulties of planning a flying holiday, is picking good destination and stopover airports, where fees are reasonable, fuel is available, and there's a friendly GA atmosphere. There's just not that many such places, and they're not easy to find, when visiting unfamiliar territory.

On the other hand, I've personally visited quite a few amazing landing spots both in Europe and the US, and I'd love to be able to easily share those experiences with the community.

I had a hard time finding online resources, where I could easily find airfields geographically, and find some practical flying information about them. Info such as landing fees, fuel price, opening hours, types of traffic allowed, WiFi available, aircraft maintenance and rental, etc. There are some sites that do collect fragments of info, but not a complete picture.

So I'm trying to build a website to do just that. The goal is to create a "Wikipedia of airports", specifically for the GA pilot community. A website that is accessible to all, and where the content is user-generated, and focussed on what is relevant for a travelling pilot looking for fun destinations.

As you may have already guessed, the URL is WikiAirports (http://www.wikiairports.com) . I would love to hear feedback from you guys about the usefulness of the site, and/or how it could be improved. Right now I am trying to collect info about airfields in Belgium, and others that I've visited, but I would love for you to post some info about your local airfield, and let me know if you thought it was easy and self-explanatory to do so. I would love to have such a resource available for myself, and I hope it can be useful to all of you!