View Full Version : Driving barefoot / in flip flops / high heels

Capetonian
19th Aug 2013, 17:11
An article in this morning's newspaper (yes, I know .... not the DM) says that driving whilst wearing flip-flops is more dangerous than high heels. As far as I'm concerned both are bloody dangerous and it should be an offence.

I often drive barefoot and am told by various people that this is illegal. I have yet to see proof of this, and no policeman on the rare occasions when I've been stopped for example at a road block, has made any comment.

Driving barefoot seems to me certainly a lot safer than driving with high heels or platform shoes, or flip-flops (none of which I wear!). It gives greater control over and feel for the controls, and assuming that one is driving a normal car with power assisted brakes and a light clutch, I fail to see the problem.

Pilot.Lyons
19th Aug 2013, 17:15
Im a driving instructor and when i taught my sister years ago she could only drive bare foot. I thought id ask the examiner if this was ok and he didn't know. He rang the driving standards agency and they said "suitable foot ware must be worn at all times"
As for the law i cant comment but if she didn't wear her slippers she wouldn't have been able to take her test.

Mostly Harmless
19th Aug 2013, 17:29
High heels are dangerous. This poor woman is absolutely doubled over in pain from her heels. http://datingsymbol.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/high-heels-dangerous-for-your-health-198x300.jpg

Goodness knows, that wearing heels like these are likely to have you on your knees or on your back at any given moment of the day or night. http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8370/8501949668_e60a91900d_b.jpg

probes
19th Aug 2013, 18:10
"suitable foot ware must be worn at all times"
meaning barefoot is not allowed? You can't be serious? What could possibly be dangerous about that? I mean, if you get stung by a wasp or something, it usually happens much higher, for example.