PDA

View Full Version : Information on which schools in the U.S provides modular JAA Training.

mytan7
19th Jul 2013, 08:52
I am an aspiring pilot and was wondering if anybody could advise me on which good flight schools to train with in the U.S for my modular JAA training?

PigeonVoyageur
19th Jul 2013, 09:22
As somebody once posted on some other thread on pprune (I can't find it now), if you want to get a FAA licence, train in the US. If you want to get a JAA/EASA licence, train in Europe.

Again, as has been mentionned in a previous post, beware of schools in USA saying they offer JAA licences.

Euro american school of aviation suspended (http://www.pprune.org/professional-pilot-training-includes-ground-studies/515345-euro-american-school-aviation-suspended.html)

BillieBob
19th Jul 2013, 10:50
which good flight schools to train with in the U.S for my modular JAA training? There are none. JAA licences (and, therefore, JAA training) no longer exist.

BigGrecian
19th Jul 2013, 12:29
There's only one place to check the official list :

EASA - FCL Organisations Approvals (http://www.easa.europa.eu/approvals-and-standardisation/organisation-approvals/FCL-organisations-approvals.php)

If you want to get a JAA/EASA licence, train in Europe.

Complete rubbish - thousands of employed pilots trained in the USA at EASA approved schools.

Even Oxford complete the majority oftheir training in the USA.

The statistics prove otherwise.

portos8
19th Jul 2013, 14:39
Under JAR's it was common for pilots to do the training in the US as JAR's were advisory.Now from April 2013,under EASA law, it becomes more and more difficult for FTO's (or ATO's) to keep offering EASA certified training in America.

Yes it is correct that generations of pilots were trained in the US for EU licenses, and are now enjoying flourishing careers on the continent. But from April this year that is not so easy anymore.