PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft import taxes

QDMQDMQDM
2nd Jul 2013, 11:49
Hi all,

Bringing my UK-rego PA18 to Australia this year. I have owned it for 11 years. I am an Australian permanent resident, as of 1st October 2012.

Does anyone know what taxes I will have to pay? Will I have to pay GST and on what value will the GST be based, if so?

Also, any pointers for companies who can help with paperwork / shipping appreciated.

Thanks,

David

hiwaytohell
2nd Jul 2013, 21:45
I have used McAfee Customs & Forwarding in Brisbane (07) 3899 3122 or +61 7 3899 3122. Reasonable fees and know light aircraft.

Probably a good starting point.

OZBUSDRIVER
2nd Jul 2013, 21:54
Check with the tax office. I would believe no gst as you have owned the aircraft for a considerable time.

tail wheel
3rd Jul 2013, 00:10
Proof of ownership, personal effects, no GST. But get a competent Customs agent to arrange the paper work.

thunderbird five
3rd Jul 2013, 11:02
OR
look on the CUSTOMS website, regarding imports.
GST on the declared value of the item, and the shipping. Don't try cheat them down, they'll rip you a new one if you're caught out.
No mentions of a free ride for anything, even stuff you already own. You are importing it.
Yes, I have imported a container of aero things I owned, GST on them, and the shipping. No duty - aircraft and parts are exempt.
PLUS all sorts of fees that side, and customs brokers fees, AQIS and more this side. It's an expensive business, but fun when you open the box (assuming it makes it here alive!)

DB Schenker (Melbourne) brings in various aircraft for Avalon Airshow. Any customs broker can assist, it doesn't matter to them what's in the box.

tail wheel
3rd Jul 2013, 19:29
I think you will find this is the difference.....

Bringing my UK-rego PA18 to Australia this year. I have owned it for 11 years. I am an Australian permanent resident, as of 1st October 2012.