PDA

View Full Version : RAA-Aus vs GA for training

Boeingforlife
23rd May 2013, 01:41
I have been trying to do some research trying to decide a flight school weather I should be going the GA pathway or RA-Aus. It doesnt make a lot of sense paying for a 4 seater aircraft when initially when you are learning to fly its just you and your instructor. I understand that GA you have C152 type aircraft but even that is $50-$75 ph more expensive than Jabiru type.

Heard a bit about Soar Aviation out of Moorabbin and they seem to be doing more flying than any other mob excluding Swinburne Aviation School. What do you guys think?

Horatio Leafblower
23rd May 2013, 12:53
Oh OK... I'll bite.

I have been a Chief Flying instructor for both types of school. I can only comment on costs, I won't comment on Melbourne schools because I have no idea about them.

The simple answer is that RAAus is cheaper in the short term. If you have serious cash restrictions at the moment and RAAus gets you into the air, go for it! :ok:

If you really want to fly bigger aircraft, in my observation a RAAus pilot will spend significantly longer learning the additional systems and complexity of a GA aircraft to the same level of competence they previously demonstrated in an RAAus aircraft.

Edited to note: most of my RAAus studes and RAAus -> GA conversions have been older blokes. Younger people can learn almost anything much more quickly and so the differences are less.

This means that the cost benefits of going RAAus early might be evened out by the time you qualify with a PPL.

There are all sorts of arguments that RAAus is a lower standard or lax with rules - if you pick a good professional school and apply yourself to your studies you will become a competent pilot within your chosen branch of study.

Apply the same principles and effort and you will match it in the other discipline when the time (or cash) comes for you.

Good luck and have fun :)

Slatye
23rd May 2013, 14:00