PDA

View Full Version : Blood Donation Every 8 Weeks

athonite
3rd Apr 2013, 09:08
I'm a UK civil pilot, as part of a joint study by the Blood Transfusion Service, and the Universities of Cambridge and Oxford, I now give blood every eight weeks, is the interval before flying any different in the UK when donating at eight weeks, and would be interested what the situation is in other countries?

hvogt
4th Apr 2013, 12:48
athonite

As far as I am aware, German law does not dictate a specified interval between blood donations and flying. The decision as to whether (or when) a pilot is fit to fly after having donated blood is basically left to the pilot's own judgement, however medical advice must be sought when there is doubt. Commercial operators must include provisions in their OMs. From what I have heard, some OMs forbid all blood donations, except in cases where near relatives suffer from life threatening conditions and require a blood transfusion. According to posts on German forums, some pilots seem to believe there was a waiting period of four weeks; my impression is this goes into the category of urban legend.

Under section 1, subsection 3 of the German Aviation Regulation (Luftverkehrs-Ordnung, LuftVO) "no person shall act as a pilot [...] while his function as pilot [...] is impaired [...] due to mental or physical impairments." (English translation from ENR 1.1 of the German AIP). As this provision remains rather general, it leaves much room for interpretation. Apparently, there is no precedent with regard to blood donations and the German civil aviation authority, LBA, has not published an administrative opinion. Were it not for the European Aircrew Regulation (see next paragraph), this provision of the Aviation Regulation alone would, in my opinion, require some waiting after blood donations.