PDA

View Full Version : R22 related questions from a plank driver

baobab72
29th Mar 2013, 08:20
Hello folks
I am about to take a training lesson on the r22 - bear in mind i am a plank driver so dont go too hard on me!- and i have done some reading on helicopter flying and on the r22 - you could call me a geek :E - and there are a couple of questions - a couple of hundreds i should say! - that spring to mind.

As far as i understand the clutch assembly allows the starter to crank the engine without having to overcome the drag from the mrs and basically consists of a lower and of an upper sheaves, of a set of V belts and of an electrical motor: during start the belts connecting the upper and the lower sheaves are loose, disconnecting the engine from the mrs while once the engine is started as the CLUTCH switch is flipped to the ENGAGE position, the electrical motor will drive an actuator located between the pulleys, moving the upper sheave up tensioning the belts, bringing the load of the mrs on the engine without stalling the engine, as reflected by an increase in rrpm's and triggering a panel mounted orange CLUTCH light. When the proper tension is reached a sensor in the actuator will de-energize the actuator extinguishing the CLUTCH warning light.
Should the belts fail to attain the proper tension due to them being worn out as the actuator reaches its fully extended position, an over travel microswitch will prevent the warning light from extinguishing IS THAT CORRECT? IS THE MICROSWITCH DE ENERGIZING THE MOTOR AS WELL?
As the DISENGAGE position is selected the electrical motor will drive the actuator in the opposite direction, lowering the upper sheave and detensioning the belts.