PDA

View Full Version : Repetition of limit G-factor

ASIP
10th Mar 2013, 14:31
I am an ASIP engineer and we track and help maintaining aircraft service life.

From the structural point of view, the limit load is a load that should occur only once per the aircraft lifetime. Thus, we assume that limit G-factors (say, +9g for F-16 @22,500 lb GW) are achieved rarely. Often repetition of the limit G-factor significantly (could I say dramatically) reduces the aircraft fatigue and service lives.

On the other hand, there are quite a few youtube clips with F-16 HUD reading of 9g. I realize that, during a mission, a pilot may need go that far. I looked at a couple of Flight Manuals and found limit maneuver G-factors but no limitations on their number of occurences.

My question is, do a pilot know that he should not get to the limit G-factor often. Is there a document for the pilot prescribing or limiting the number of limit G occurences?

Thank you.

Courtney Mil
10th Mar 2013, 20:17
F-15 pilots (in the days of the A and C models) were trained to use max g (9) in every fight. That's 4 to 5 times per training sortie in the combat taining phases. From what my oppos on the F-16 tell me it was the same there. That's a lot of counts on 9g in each airframe's lifetime.

Basil
10th Mar 2013, 20:50
Well, I'm just a wee truckie but, on the Jet provost, with Pilots' Notes figures of +6/-3 we frequently took it to +6 and, less frequently, to -3 *.

The JP and, later, the Bücker Jungmann, provided me with the most fun I've ever had in an aeroplane.

*Tried an outside square loop one day. The little Viper wasn't up to the huge drag of pushing -3 and I didn't make it. One did however, push -3.5 and, upon reporting same to old Chiefy in line hut, was told: "That's what it really is but they know you young gentlemen will push things a bit so they tell you it's - 3.0." :}

Waddo Plumber
10th Mar 2013, 20:56