PDA

View Full Version : Aspiring Pilot - 4th Year of School

AidanRFC
31st Jan 2013, 16:49
Hello,

As the title states, I'm currently into my fourth year at high school in the United Kingdom, and I am an aspiring pilot. I'm looking for any tips and hints to gain a headstart against those who wish to become a pilot, also.

I vaguely know about the possible routes you can take in becoming a pilot, however would like to know more. I do not consider the RAF an option however, I'm not going to rule it out.

If anyone could share any information on the job (working hours, basic salary, required qualifications, what I can do at this age, etc.) then I would be most appreciative.

Thank-you very much.

Robert G Mugabe
31st Jan 2013, 17:03
Hi AidanRFC

Welcome to these forums. There a few routes into aviation in the UK. None of which is easy and none have a certainty of an aviation job at the start of training. In no particular order.

1. " Self improver route. PPL followed by self study and hours building until CPL with Night rating and IR.

2. Pay to fly schemes where you pay out through the nose to companies like CTC etc to go from zero hours to CPL level.

3. RAF, FAA and AAC on the military side. Stiff competition mind and no longer a route to an airline job.

Have a gander around these forums and good luck.

Craggenmore
31st Jan 2013, 17:13
P.S, I do apologise if I posted in the wrong forum, I've only just created an account!

Welcome. Have a look at the 'Wanabee' forum - lots of good info there for your entry into the market place!

Good Luck :)

Pork chop express
31st Jan 2013, 17:25
Hi Aidan RFC

Welcome to PPrune! Nothing to add to the posters above in terms of routes into the industry etc....Just keep your eyes WIDE OPEN and make sure you enjoy the flying and know it will be a long journey ahead to secure a job. Like any job airline flying at the end of the day is a job...it has its positives and negatives!