PDA

View Full Version : Busted a TFR, will any airline hire me now???

Jrw387
29th Jan 2013, 13:49
Hey guys, I nicked the P-40 TFR recently after a mix up happened with flight following and a bit of confusion. I didn't get greeted by any F-15s or secret service. Basically I am getting hit with "carelessness and recklessness", "TFR Violation", and 30 day suspension. All of the legalities have been dealt with so "lawyering up" is no longer an option. This first time offense can't be the end of my flying career can it??

My main question is will any airline/company hire me with these violations on my record? I'm an Instrument rated pilot working on my Commercial certificate with a little over 200hrs.

I'd love to hear from anyone who has been hired with a violation or knows of anyone who has. Thanks!

Sincerely
A fellow pilot in need of help

Prazum
29th Jan 2013, 16:59
The P-40 is a very serious violation , as I am sure you know. If your up against people of the same hours experience as you when applying for a job the p40 is seriously going to hinder you I would have thought.
Lets hope some Airline recruiter can give you a definitive answer

Jrw387
29th Jan 2013, 21:51
Yeah dumbest mistake of my short pilot career and now I feel like I put all of this time and money into flying for nothing!

Hearing from an Airline Recruiter would be great regardless of whether or not I get a positive answer from them, I just haven't really heard ANYTHING about people in my situation and I am really interested about the outcomes.

Tinstaafl
30th Jan 2013, 02:29
Did you submit a NASA report in a timely manner ie as soon as you were aware that you'd made a mistake? That NASA report protects you from being penalized if the error was a genuine mistake. Doesn't stop the infraction going on your record though.

If it was a warning letter you got then it will be cleared from your record in two years. In this case I don't think that applies.

Jrw387
30th Jan 2013, 03:43