PDA

View Full Version : Would having a PhD be a disadvantage for being a pilot?

FrankMatt
12th Nov 2012, 12:48
I have just started a Phd in Aerospace Engineering (about a month ago) and I plan to train as a commercial pilot. The PhD scholarship was too good to turn down so I took it. I am starting to worry now whether obtaining a PhD, although an admirable achievement, may make me over-qualified or airlines believing that I would be a "know-it-all". Could anyone shed some light?

Thanks in advance.

FANS
12th Nov 2012, 13:00
I wouldn't have thought so, as you seem to recognise the need to be modest.

For me the bigger issue is if you enjoy and are capable of working at a PhD level, do you actually want to be an airline pilot?

FrankMatt
12th Nov 2012, 13:21
Yes I do. For me it is just a means to an end. I did a batchelors degree, then straight into a masters. After I was offered the PhD, I thought it was better to enter that than a graduate scheme as most make you sign a retainer. So If was offered a place on a pilot training scheme it wouldn't be too hard to leave the PhD. I can now spend the next year applying and preparing for any perspective job interviews.

XanderFly
12th Nov 2012, 13:43
I don't think airlines consider it as a disadvantage, because it seems you've got a reasonable explanation. Besides, flying is mostly considered as a passion. People won't compare it as the doctor with a PhD who likes to be a nurse or something, I think.

For myself: I'm a legal cousel with a masters degree. In the interviews I did for flight schools and the British Airways programme, the interviewers did realize that flying is my passion and never wondered themself about the radical switch I'm busy with.

EZY_FR
12th Nov 2012, 14:36
From BA FPP site:

You will need:

5 GCSEs at Grade C or above, including English Language, Mathematics and a Science (single or double award), excluding General Studies.
PLUS

either 3 A-Levels at Grades BBC or above, excluding General Studies.