PDA

View Full Version : AM publication 1950s RAF Instrument Flying

Stampe
4th Oct 2012, 06:14
About 20 years ago I came across an AM publication in a secondhand bookshop which apppeared to outline various IF exercises for the 1950s airforce.Some of the setpiece exercises were quite complex and challenging basic IF patterns and an interesting insight into the early cold war Royal Air Force training system.I was fascinated by its content but as the book was in poor condition and rather expensive I passed it by.I,ve never seen anything similar since,can any of you 50s aviators tell me what it was (an AM. or AP.reference?) so I might finally satisfy my interest.As a flying instructor I collect flying training manuals especially those on IF.Thanking you in anticipation regards to all Stampe.

Krakatoa
4th Oct 2012, 10:20
I recall instrument flying exercises in the old Link named Pattern A and Pattern B. From memory????? you flew a square pattern with 270 degree descending or climbing turns at the corners.

Reverserbucket
4th Oct 2012, 21:07
And we still do! Patterns A and B (and C) can be found in all the civil integrated flying course syllabi I've worked on over the years.

Fareastdriver
5th Oct 2012, 09:57
Are these the ones?

http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee224/fareastdriver/img004.jpg
http://i229.photobucket.com/albums/ee224/fareastdriver/img003-1.jpg

A.P. 3225 INSTRUCTORS HANDBOOK OF FLYING TRAINING
is the source.

Krakatoa
5th Oct 2012, 10:25
Who said, ".....You only remember the good times..."

Stampe
5th Oct 2012, 11:56