PDA

View Full Version : Inspection Torch?

The90sAME
1st Sep 2012, 22:09
Hello,

Long time reader, fist time thread starter.

I'm an apprentice line engineer, and I'm wondering, how bright should my inspection torch be for night shifts, for a general pre flight / post flight, walk around checks?

I've ordered a 154 Lumen torch today, it hasn't been dispatched, so I can still cancel it, I'm just wondering, is that bright enough, or too bright?

The main reason for asking if it is too bright, is, because I have a 45 Lumen head torch I bough today, and that's pretty bright, it clearly light up the top of the 3 story town house I live in.

The torch i bough is the 154 Lumen variant of the Fenix E21.

Regards
The90sAME

darkbarly
1st Sep 2012, 22:52
Never seen (excuse pun) minimum level lux/lumen/candela of portable hand held ilumination device specified in any aircraft manufacturers document such as the maintenance planning document or AMM etc. However for your fleet it might be. Have a look! Failing that your Employer may have specified it in the QA or other such manual.

Otherwise the Maglite 2/3 cell was the industry standard and most torches of the LED type are more powerful than the Mag.

There are perhaps two more important questions than yours?

1. Can I illuminate all the items specified in the Daily/line check list (eg: The fan OGVs from the back of the fan exhaust for stone or bird damage)

2. Will it work again when you drop it?

Cos you will. :ok:

The90sAME
1st Sep 2012, 23:10
Aha, yeah I cant find anything in our documents specifying anything about a torch.

The guy I was shadowing said its worth investing in a torch that was bright, I cant remember what brightness he had, he said something about a 200 Lumen torch, but I cant remember if it was the one he had, or one that would be too bright.

Yeah, the one i just ordered is safe upto 1.5 meters, but the chances of dropping it from higher are likely.