PDA

View Full Version : Commercial training in Scotland

gordonquinn
16th Aug 2012, 12:10
Hi guys,

First time post, please be gentle, and I have done my research so I hope I am not reposting like a n0ob.

I am 22 and from just outside Glasgow, I am a IT Engineer and have a Bsc in Computer Networking and Systems Support. My plan since 16 was go to uni as early as possible, get a job, earn money and pay for my training. This way I always had a fallback, and it is much less risky.

I have now built up a sound career foundation in IT, so now proceesing to stage 2. I am looking to form a 5 year plan to become a commercial pilot, going the modular route, from 0 to hero (or licensed pilot, I'm not sure what my next evolution is).

I have had a few hours flying to try different schools, and done my research into what the schools offer.
The first school I have found is Leading Edge in Cumbernauld, a small school that offers PPL, CPL, I/R and MEP, ATPL theory I plan to do distance learning.
The second is a bit further away, but seems to be a much better school, it is Tayside Aviation in Dundee, again offering the same as above.

Has anyone trained in either of these schools? How do they stand up against other schools?

These are my local options, however another option would be to take leave from work and do the training abroad, or even just down South in England. Has anyone done this kind of thing before?

Finally, the big cost question, my calculations have been broken down as below, could I ask for some feedback on this? Are my costs realistic? Or naive? Also is there anything I have missed out?

PPL + night: £9000
ATPL Theory: £999
Hour building: £5000
I/R: £13000
CPL: £5000
MEP rating: £2500

Total: £40499 + about £5000 buffer.

Paying for this, I am planning to save £15000 over the next 3 years, then loan the remaining £30000.