PDA

View Full Version : EK Aircraft Engineer

tangpig
10th Aug 2012, 17:33
Last month EK was here in Vancouver looking for licenced engineer. I've been a licenced engineer for more than ten years with A330/340 B777-200/300 and B747-200/400 approval. I really need some detailed info about the position upthere in Dubai. What does engineer's work enviroment look like? How many flights do engineers signoff on one shift? What kind of accommodation is engineer entitled? And I'm sure I will have more questions coming up later on.
Thanks for your reply.

birdieonfirst
11th Aug 2012, 06:57
I think it has all to do with our rumoured expansion in Canada with daily Toronto and 3 or 5 weekly flights to Vancouver. Count yourself lucky to be able to work from home in Vancouver should you be offered the job.

Guess you'll be turning around 3 to five A/C a WEEK...

:ok:BOF

J.L.Seagull
14th Aug 2012, 07:00
Hi tangpig,

I was an engineer with EK until a few months ago. Am now F/O with another carrier. Spent 17 yrs at EK, with the last 6 - 7 yrs as an engineer. Absolutely loved it there. Great colleagues, great support from mgmt (atleast in my dept). I left because I wanted to fly.

It all depends on where you get posted.

i.e.
Line Maint: turnarounds, weekly checks, flying duties)
Base Ops: A-checks, AOG's (including outstation), non-scheduled major jobs (engine chg, LDG chg, etc)
or Base Heavy: C-chks and D-chks

Work pattern in LM & B/Ops is 2 days, 2 nights, 4 off's. (0600-1800)
Resources are definitely limited: i.e. lack of manpower, not enough vehicles, etc. so you will feel pushed at times. However, tools and spares are never a problem. The facilities are impressive.

You may be required to do a lot of overtime, and it's not ENTIRELY at your descretion. You do need to put in the extra time when asked/told. Expect to work on atleast 1 of your 4 off days, everytime (in L/M). Having said that, no one will force you to work when genuinely tired/fatigued.