PDA

View Full Version : Flying Victor airways

matthewlai
7th Aug 2012, 01:34
I'm a PPL student that just started flying cross country. I have always been wondering if there are advantages to flying on victor airways?

So far I usually just plan GPS direct (noting terrain clearance and airspaces of course) between airports, and picking visual checkpoints along the route.

Should I be flying on victor airways instead?

Thanks

n5296s
7th Aug 2012, 03:59
It's worth doing a few times to get the experience of using VORs - not that THEY are really of much practical use these days, but it's as well to know how to do it. But for practical purposes, Victor airways have gone the way of the four-way range. For VFR flight they serve no purpose at all. For IFR flight they're needed for planning purposes, and in terminal areas you'll get routings based on them in and out of the terminal area. Everything else is done direct these days.

My 2c...

Mark 1
7th Aug 2012, 04:10
There's no real need. The victor routes are just a "join the dots" path between VORs. So they do give you a fall-back for the GPS and the radials required are handily printed on the charts. They also usually keep you out of restricted areas and MOAs and make filling in a flight plan straightforward.

On the other hand, traffic densities are likely to be higher, especially when close to the beacons.

Getting flight-following advisories is a better safety provision irrespective of whether you fly GPS direct or Victor. It's free and there for your benefit.

matthewlai
7th Aug 2012, 05:10
Ah I see! I didn't know victor airways just connect VORs. I thought they have some special meaning.

I guess there's not much point for me to fly them since the planes I fly don't have VOR receivers (Citabrias; my club's do have IFR GPS, though, which is really nice, even though they are probably as un-IFR-certified as airplanes get).