PDA

View Full Version : Aviation English Course

Strela
24th Jul 2012, 17:12
Dear Aviators,

I am a Student currently studying in Leeds University Aviation technology and I am aiming for the big captain's seat! I've recently got my PPL and gradually I shall continue Modular! There is a tiny detail ... I am not from the UK and I will definitely need an English course in Aviation , won't I ?

I want to ask if there is anyone who could recommend a good place to do it?
Is it for life or how do I keep it updated?

I would very much appreciate your help!
Best regards! ;)

Genghis the Engineer
24th Jul 2012, 17:39
So far as I know, if you pass tests here in Britain, in English, you will be scored as having English competence, without needing anything else.

G

mad_jock
24th Jul 2012, 18:04
G is right as long as someone at some point ticks the level 6 box on a test sheet thats you got it for life.

If they don't you have to go for a test at a center and they will grade you. Anything less than 6 and you will have to do the test again after a period of time.

If you already have the PPL and haven't had to do the test to get your radio license I suspect you already have a 6.

Strela
24th Jul 2012, 18:41
But doesn't most of airlines and companies require a level 4 as a minimum ? I think it would be a great practice overall but if anyone knows more please feel free to share it ?

mad_jock
24th Jul 2012, 22:03
If you already hold a radio license on a British issued PPL your more than likely already have a level 6 anyway because the examinors can only tick the box for that level. If they hadn't ticketed the box you would have been required to get an assement of your english level before license issue.

Genghis the Engineer
24th Jul 2012, 22:27
6 is higher than 4.

G

Fostex
25th Jul 2012, 07:09