PDA

View Full Version : us vs canada

sheegal
24th Jul 2012, 14:11
hi friends
i am a wannabe pilot.
i am planning to study flight training either in USA or CANADA
I got some doubt regarding that, i need help in it.

A,
1. My main aim is to migrate , i dont want to return
to India(my home country) , i dont want to convert
my license to indian cpl too.
2. i would like to buld up my time to 1500 for ATPL in CANADA OR US

after a few research in internet i found
(pls tell me if i am wrong its just wat i found in net)

IN USA
here we can complete professional course in
12 to 16 months, then we can register for OPT
for hardly a year. after that we should leave country.
i dont think i can build up not more than 400 hour
by instructing in 1 year. so i end up returning home with 400
hours, which is no use to me.

IN CANADA
here we can complete professional course in
14 to 18 months then we can opt for work visa
upto 3 years which is fair enough time to build my hours
more than 1500. and opt for PR and migrate there

Pls tell me is this all true or am wrong???

B,
will i able to get a instructor job after cpl in canada
since there is not any flight school as there in US?

Johnny Bekkestad
24th Jul 2012, 14:18
Which ever you choose you will struggle to immigrate, there are not a lot of pilot jobs available and there are quite a few pilots. So don't think that you will get sponsored easily.
Now, depending on how fast you get your certificates you could have quite some time on your OPT left and it is no impossible to do 80-100 hours a month.
I taught for 5 months and have about 500 dual given, so i know that by first hand.
One other thing to think of is that there is an agreement between the FAA and Canadian CAA that permits you to convert FAA/CAA license to the other all you have to do is two written tests that you can study on Gleim. No checkride either.