PDA

View Full Version : Airbus 320 type rating & 500 hours of Line training Rate of success??

joaocastro
11th Jun 2012, 22:10
Dear colleagues,

I would like to know if there is someone on this forum, that has applied or knows someone that applied for the the Airbus 320 Type rating and line training.

What I really want to know is the rate of success for candidates that have less than 1000 hours or even 1500 hours, that are know working in an airline company.

In my case for example I graduated as a pilot last year, and currently I have 240 hours total time. I also know that after completing this program my chances increase a lot. Believe me, I'm completely against paying to fly, but without spending more money I will never start flying.

I know some people that had less hours than me that after completing the Airbus program were able to get a job.

I want to know in general if it is a safe bet, the risk is always present, but this will be my last chance of financing a type rating. I'm afraid if I invest in a turbo prop I may not get the chance to pay a jet qualification later.

All comments are welcome.

Regards, and the best of luck to all of us.

joaocastro
12th Jun 2012, 14:12
Cowhorse,

It's ok I was expecting that kind of reply. As long as they are useful I donīt mind at all.
Guarantees today, well I guess today nothing is guaranteed.

But of course that I'm not going to invest in something this big based in a few comments. I started my research more intensely 6 months ago, Boeing, Airbus and turbo props I have seen all there is for these types of aircraft. I made that question because I really would like to know the rate of success of those applicacants for the A320.

Well I guess that waiting for a job contract to fall on my lap with my current experience will be harder to find. Or to pay for a flight instructor rating so I can fly a Cessna 150, I'm pretty sure that I wont be flying commercially very soon.

joaocastro
12th Jun 2012, 14:17
Zondaracer,