PDA

View Full Version : Calling HSBC mortgage holders in UAE

football1
6th Jun 2012, 13:02
Have any existing customers encountered issues availing of best available interest rates on their home loans? Are their mortgage customers of other banks who may have similar issues. If so would love to hear from you.
(I'm a journalist not a salesman!)
[email protected]

BlueSkye
6th Jun 2012, 16:56
No, their rates as advertised on the website was what I got. All depending on the deposit. YMMV.

football1
6th Jun 2012, 17:10
..thanks BlueSkye - I should have been more clear- I'm looking at cases of long standing mortgage customers who are still paying rates of 6 or 7 per cent and not being able to access the same deals that are being offered to new customers (in the range of 4 to 4.5 per cent).

woodja51
7th Jun 2012, 10:15
Wow only paying 6 or 7 percent! Try 8.25 with tamWeel who are offering 4% for new customers...and they wont budge... That is how they fund the cheaper loans .. Using the goose laying the golden egg to prop up new business... And of course most folks are under water with their loans so cant sell out in the current market, and move on without topup cash injected.

Hence the potential rise in defaults ...and of course that winds you up in Jail if you default, .... If you stay n DXB of course.

Funnily, banks relate the interest rates they charge to the risk of default . But what they miss is that high interest rates actually increase the possibility of default as the borrower has no skin in the game . If they dropped rates but kept repayments the same , equity would build quicker and folks might stay in the game longer...but they dont see it that way... Yet.

Good luck !

Kennytheking
7th Jun 2012, 10:32
What he said plus.....