PDA

View Full Version : This should be interesting, (Mexican Rescue Techniques)

BlenderPilot
24th May 2012, 01:07
Ok so the story is, yesterday there was a fire in an office building here in Mexico City, smoke and fire going up the stairs, people getting intoxicated, the Mexico State Police helicopters are called in to pull people off the roof, the RED KOALA with a winch, but they were slow, so here comes the Mexico City Police, the BLUE TEAM, with an AS350 and 355 with no winch to hover over the roof so they hover over the building and have people jump onto the helicopter, see for yourself and give your opinion (Be Kind I'm a Pilot with the Blue Team) ;)

Keep in Mind this building is at 9,100 Feet and the Temperature was a cozy 28 degrees celsius.

Here is the Video:

9Hf5Ygt0g-s
;)

havoc
24th May 2012, 01:51
Nice flying!

Gordy
24th May 2012, 01:56
Nice. It was probably not the safest thing to do, but under the circumstances---or "perceived" circumstances... sometimes you do what you have to do...... I am a great believer in doing things on the fly when the situation calls for it.

I am sure there will be many who will not approve.

hillberg
24th May 2012, 02:08
The hover loading did better on time,:ok: Not too bad for the area.:D

ReverseFlight
24th May 2012, 03:33
Quite a spectacular bit of hovering there. The police Squirrels were actually pointing themselves into wind a bit more than the Koala, and held their positions well despite pax embarkation. I also liked the way they gained airspeed by diving away into the wind - I guess the Koala had masses of reserve power and can descend steeply and slowly without the risk of developing VRS ?

Flyting
24th May 2012, 04:20
Good flying under the circumstances...

A few things to look at if you're in the same situation: