PDA

View Full Version : Request input from Air Nuigini and Airlines PNG aircrew.

A Squared
20th May 2012, 06:30
I might be opening a can of worms here, but hopefully this won't turn ugly. I'm asking for some responses here in order to perhaps alleviate some frustrations, or at least gain a better understanding of them. Hopefully any response will be offered in the same spirit.

Disclaimer: I have no official position at my company, I'm just a line pilot. Any thoughts expressed here are 100% my own and are in no way reflective of my company's policies or positions.

OK, that said, I fly for the Herc operator. You know who I mean. It's my understanding that we have received complaints from both Air Nuigini and Airlines PNG forwarded through CASA about our communications procedures. The most recent one references an inability to contact our aircrews on the proper designated frequencies to resolve potential traffic conflicts. I'd be interested to read a more complete description of such incidents so that I have a better understanding of the specific issues underlying the complaints. I believe I have a pretty good understanding of the correct frequencies and procedures, but if it's coming up short I'd certainly like to rectify that. Certainly if it comes to light that there is something that we as a company are chronically doing incorrectly, I'd pass the information along to the powers that be so that the misunderstanding could be corrected. So anyway. I'd appreciate hearing from anyone who could shed some light and takes the time to respond. If you're not enthusiastic about posting on an open forum, feel free to send me a PM. I'd certainly respect your desire for discretion. Thanks

E&H
20th May 2012, 08:19