PDA

View Full Version : Your thoughts on Firecrest Aviation?

ee59
17th Mar 2012, 11:24
Dear all,

I live in Hertfordshire and looking to start PPL training. The nearest airfield is Elstree and I was thinking of doing my training with Firecrest Aviation. However, as I am completely new to this field I am looking to get opinions from more experienced people.

So is Firecrest Aviation a good place to do PPL training? Are they reliable? How are the instructors? How are the aircraft?

Are there better alternatives around the same area?

Your advice would be much appreciated.

Regards,
ee59

A and C
17th Mar 2012, 23:16
They have been around for years.

They don't have new aircraft.

They dont have young instructors dressed like Argentinian admirals.

You pay as you go.

All in all they are honest guys who are pepole trying to make an honest living by providing a good service, I have done business with them and it was an uneventful transaction.

Now if you want a real jucey story about dishonesty, unclear pricing, restrictive practices and contempt for the customer then you could have gone to another local training providor but they have gone bust taking a lot of people's money with them.

dkatwa
18th Mar 2012, 10:27
I learnt at Firecrest and got my PPL in June 2010. Honest and friendly bunch. They are not hour- builders and they have other jobs too, so they teach because it is a passion for them.
There is a Pooleys store on site too and a nice cafe so, even if the weather lets you down, you should be able to enjoy the other facilities.
Planes are C152/C172, although I think they have a Grumman now too
Give them a try...!

clkorm3
18th Mar 2012, 10:33