PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft Batteries

Bedawee_zeus
16th Mar 2012, 14:15
Hello I am doing a degree in Aircraft Maintenance and at the same time the part 66 b1 license. I have come to the stage where I have to do a dissertation and boy did I pick a messed up one.

Title is: Whether or not it is viable to replace the conventional battery with PEM Fuel cells for aircraft emergency power.

I am taking it into consideration that the RAT is jammed or not working and the fuel has ran out on the aircraft and the APU is busted. So we are left with our tertiary line of emergency power the battery. The battery supplies power to vital and essential systems on the aircraft such as emergency light navigation equipment and so on.

Before coming here I have tried Airbus they're just rude and wont reply, so it is difficult for me to obtain accurate information.

So I need your help please based on your experience.

My question is how much current is being withdrawn from an aircraft battery during an emergency situation. I would like to specify on an aircraft such as Airbus a320. I know in general, emergency power lasts for around 30 minutes. The battery the a320 uses is 23AH (illustrated in the CMM, their may be different versions), I need to know the average current withdrawn during an emergency situation so I may compare this to a hydrogen fuel cell.

30 minutes nowadays is not acceptable so the amount of hydrogen stored will depend on how long it may supply power.

I thank you all in advance.

ArthurR
16th Mar 2012, 17:05
Bedawee_zeus, check your PM's

mono
18th Mar 2012, 12:23
You don't need us to tell you. You already have the answer. Certainly if you only need a rough guide.