PDA

View Full Version : Cruise power setting

matthewlai
8th Mar 2012, 08:08
Hello!

I am a new student pilot (10 hours), and was just wondering how the cruise power is usually chosen.

From what I have seen, most small planes (172, DA-20, etc) have a listed cruise power of 75%-80%. Is that to save fuel? Or can the engine not handle 100% power all the time?

Since plane rental is by the hour and wet Hobbs at most places, wouldn't it make more sense to cruise at 100% power if range is not a problem?

Thanks!

peterh337
8th Mar 2012, 08:14
It depends on how deep you want to go into it :)

There appears to be a commonly held view that best engine life is achieved around 65% of max rated power.

In cruise, you normally set the desired power setting (or set wide open throttle if you are at such an altitude that the otherwise desired power setting cannot be reached, due to insufficient air available) and then you lean for approximately peak EGT. That gives you the best MPG.

The following notes (http://www.peter2000.co.uk/aviation/engine-management/index.html) apply to adequately instrumented fuel injected engines but you will get the general idea.

But you are right - a cynical b*astard renter doing a short burger run will just fly everywhere at 100% power :) That is the stupidity of renting a plane out "wet" but in practice the schools have no other options because "dry" involves complicated fuel metering and other arrangements which are too much of a hassle to operate.

Pilot DAR
8th Mar 2012, 08:18
Matthew,

Many engines are only permitted to run at 100% power for 5 minutes at a time. Though for some planes full power cruise is possible, there is absolutely no advantage. It's very noisy, hard on everything, and wastes immense amounts of fuel, comapred to a curise at 65% - 75% power. For the extra 3 or more gallons per hour in the 172, you're going a couple of knots faster, why bother...