PDA

View Full Version : Super Puma rescue in Greek waters

alicopter
18th Feb 2012, 15:34
Hi all, just 2 minutes about a sinking super yacht (m/y Yogi under french flag) crew being recued by a Super Puma (Hellenic Coast guards) Enjoy...

The Crew Report | Superyacht Crew News | Yogi sinks off the coast of Skyros (http://www.thecrewreport.com/superyacht_crew_news.asp?id=17846)
Cheers. Al

http://vimeo.com/36961557

grumpytroll
19th Feb 2012, 00:45
With the little information available, I find this shocking. How does a ship of this size have a situation that causes it to sink! I have no nautical knowledge to speak of so am operating from a position of ignorance. It seems strange that a modern (at least it appears to be very modern) vessel like this can have such a catastrophic failure that it cannot be saved. I look forward to learning more about this. Excellent job by the aircrew. Cheers

truthinbeer
19th Feb 2012, 03:05
How does a ship of this size have a situation that causes it to sink! From a professional view it looks to me as though it was a stability problem. That is the vessel was ballasted in such a way that it was inherently unstable. The seas were not what I would regard as excessively rough. Incorrectly ballasted the vessel when healed over to only a small degree adopts a condition known as the 'angle of loll' in which it has a negative righting force and a situation from which it cannot recover. It consequently capsizes. Poor seamanship loading the vessels' tanks (fuel, potable water, ballast etc) incorrectly.

malabo
19th Feb 2012, 03:38
The shipyard work done just before it sailed was repaint under warranty. 50 million to build, finished last March in Turkey. Captain referred to a problem with the engine exhaust, someone else thought a stabilizer had torn off.