PDA

View Full Version : How to become a licensed aircraft engineer

Decor58
2nd Feb 2012, 11:03
Hi all,

I'm in my final year of an aeronautical MEng course and currently looking at jobs. I've previously only thought about going into the RAF, all I've ever wanted to do, however their not actually hiring at the moment so I've been forced to consider other options.

One I've found appealing is working at East Midlands airport, working on fleet maintenance and certification, however the job require a B1/2 EASA licence. I've read a fair bit about the licence but cannot seem to find out how to obtain it.

So my question is, does anyone know how to obtain it?

NutLoose
2nd Feb 2012, 11:48
This is in the process of rework but should answer some of your questions

ELGD 2007: The Engineer's Licensing Guidance Document | Publications | CAA (http://www.caa.co.uk/application.aspx?catid=33&pagetype=65&appid=11&mode=detail&id=2382)

Genghis the Engineer
2nd Feb 2012, 12:27
Decor, to a large extent you will be starting from scratch with your education again - this is a totally different training and qualification system to the MEng-->CEng system that you have gone through so far.

Don't look for the route from MEng to LAME. That route doesn't exist. The main crossovers are the words "aeroplane" and "engineer", the actual work is totally different to what your education has been pointing you at.

It'll probably take about as long as your degree has so far.

G

Fargoo
2nd Feb 2012, 18:24
Hi,
Genghis is right, the degree route is very different to the traditional LAE route. Normally graduates in aviation end up doing more Engineering type jobs rather than spannering jobs.

British Airways Graduate Jobs (http://www.britishairwaysgraduates.com/) - just a thought?

I know plenty of LAE's who have their degrees but most of the ones I know did it as mature students having worked through the Apprentice > Mechanic > Technician > LAE route first.