PDA

View Full Version : The Thing I Couldn't Do .....

Peter3127
27th Jan 2012, 13:45
I am a 10 hour student with the good fortune to have already enjoyed basic handling, climbing and descending, even got my pick ups and landings pretty smooth.

Pattern hovering around the nose was easy. Turns around the tail just seem wrong (as an aside, I know paradoxically that putting your tail rotor where you know it is safe is a good thing, that said putting your tail rotor where you cannot see it feels like closing your eyes and feeling for a mousetrap in the dark with your ... um, you know :mad:). Turns around the tail are the thing doing my head in right now. The Thing I Can't Do!

Back to the script .... when it comes to putting all the basics together for circuits ..... it seems like it will never happen. I know it will, but it is a true one step forward, two back learning experience. Especially as an adult. And we all have had those moments in learning (bathed in sweat with the gentle encouragement from the instructor "You know what to do, so fix it!" in your ear).

I would love to hear for the benefit of those of us on the journey what, Ye Olde Skye Gods, remember as the the "Thing You Couldn't Do", but ultimately conquered.

And if you could tell us how you did ... we will hold you in moderate to above average esteem forever. :ok:

Shawn Coyle
27th Jan 2012, 15:49
Peter:
Visualization is the key to this, or any maneuver. If you haven't read 'Jonathan Livingstone Seagull', I highly recommend it as a key to 'perfect flying'.
Soon you'll be able to do this naturally, and will be hard pressed to figure out how you actually did it.

Wageslave
27th Jan 2012, 16:42
Seconded. JLS should be mandatory reading for every stude.
Invaluable.

hillberg
27th Jan 2012, 18:53
The only thing I can't do? Make lots of money!:rolleyes:

louisnewmark
27th Jan 2012, 19:59
This is a great thread starter, Peter.
First and foremost, though: