PDA

View Full Version : BALL

dkatwa
16th Jan 2012, 23:46
Following my EFAT O topic recently, I would think that the plane would have a load of fuel just after takeoff, meaning that should a landing be on land with rough grooves, the chances of flipping over would be high, with resultant fire risks.

It got me thinking...how can we prevent the plane flipping over (I am talking about normal tricycle with front steering)? The thing to cause the flipover would be, I guess, grooves that the front wheel cannot climb.

Is there any merit in having the front wheel as a ball, you know, along the lines of a barrow-ball or a Dyson Ball vacuum cleaner? I am not an engineer and haven't got the foggiest how such a thing would be made, but I think a ball type wheel would just roll over most ridges, especially if it was out- sized (thing penny farthing in reverse, although not so big).

To reduce drag, maybe have pimples, like golf balls do?

Anyway, over to the folks with the brains....

chrisN
17th Jan 2012, 00:54
Is it not the case that most flip-overs are cause by crop, rather than furrows or other holes in the ground?

Chris N

Pilot DAR
17th Jan 2012, 02:08
Keeping such a "ball" balanced, and free of shimmy could be a challenge. Drag might be a factor too! I'd stick with the original design.

Some types do offer "tundra tires", but these are more common, and better suited to taildragger aircraft types.

BackPacker
17th Jan 2012, 07:44
Is there any evidence of nosewheel aircraft flipping over on EFATO landings on rough ground, assuming they land more-or-less under control? I would think that the chances are not that big.

The CofG of an aircraft roughly lies in the spar box. Slightly higher in case of a low wing, slightly lower in case of a high wing. And for your typical light aircraft that's approximately 1 meter of the ground. Maybe 1.5 meter in case of a high wing, but let's go with the 1 meter for now.