PDA

View Full Version : Training for airline job in Asia

Tesl
14th Jan 2012, 07:13
Hello everyone,

(First an apology, this post got much longer than I expected. Feel free to skip to the TLDR at the bottom of this post!)

I've been reading through posts on these forums almost solidly for a week or two now, in the end I ended up making this post much earlier than expected.

A little background, I've been working in Tokyo (and some time in HK) for the last 4-5 years in one of the major Investment Banks. I'm 26, and a UK citizen. I speak only English and conversational Japanese.

I've been finding a regular desk job somewhat soul destroying, especially when working for an industry doing a job I find hard to justify (in the sense that it offers so little value to the rest of society). The salary has always been good, and this is often what keeps people there for a lifetime.

So recently I was doing a lot of soul searching and trying to decide what it really is I want to do with my life, and what I could do that I'd enjoy and want to do everyday. Even if that requires a sizeable drop in salary. One of the things that I had thought about quite a lot was flying and aviation, it had always been one of those jobs I'd describe as "a dream", although perhaps never considered realistic and it wasn't something I've researched much before.

As of time of writing, I do not have any flight experience. Obviously before undertaking any sort of serious/committed pilot training this is something I'm going to have to try to experience and see how much I enjoy it. As someone who loves driving / biking / any form of racing etc, it seems it *should* be something I'd enjoy. But obviously, any other issues I'm raising in this thread would be contingent on me actually enjoying it. There is more research I still need to be doing in just making sure the day to day life of a pilot is something that would suit me too, so all this will come first before I give anyone any money for anything :)