PDA

View Full Version : Question about reading performance and fuel data

CharlieDeltaUK
2nd Jan 2012, 16:30
When reading data about fuel burn, it looks like the data is quoted by reference to two variables:

Best economy or best power
and
% power

For example:

For best economy cruise:
8.5 GPH at 75% power
7.5 GPH at 65% power
6.6 GPH at 55% power

For best power:
10.0 GPH at 75% power
8.8 GPH at 65% power
7.8 GPH at 55% power

I'm confused because, for any given % power (ie throttle setting), I would have assumed that the net result is either an economy cruise, or a best-power setting, or somewhere between the two. But, I don't see how, for example, a 75% power setting can be applicable to both 'best economy' and 'best power'. I've doubtless got some fundamental misunderstanding here (I'm still a student) which I'd like to clear up.

Thanks as ever for your help.:confused:

BackPacker
2nd Jan 2012, 16:36
The difference is in proper leaning. At anything other than best economy, you are wasting fuel as coolant for the engine.

Unfortunately under certain circumstances you will have to waste that fuel, otherwise you cook the engine, or will not be able to obtain the power required.

Most of this is in aircraft technical. Did you go through that book already?

englishal
2nd Jan 2012, 17:19
75% power is....75% power so I don't understand the two tables you posted?

dont overfil
2nd Jan 2012, 17:51
Wobbly prop?
Bipolar engine?
D.O.

peterh337
2nd Jan 2012, 18:33
The 'best economy' and 'best power' means different things in different POHs.

It should probably mean "peak EGT', and approximately 100F ROP which delivers best power at a cost of about 10% worse fuel consumption.