PDA

View Full Version : IR renewal under EASA

Cobalt
20th Dec 2011, 08:03
Under JAA, as long as the IR had not expired for 5 years or more, I just had to turn up for a proficiency check to get it renewed - which should be easy to pass if I am late for, say, a couple of days or if I have been using my FAA IR for a few years and now want to renew my JAR IR.

With the new EASA regs, "refresher training at an ATO to reach the level of proficiency needed to pass the instrument element of the skill test in accordance with Appendix 9 to this Part" is now mandatory, to be completed before the proficiency check.

Is it clear yet what this means in practice? This could mean anything from turning up at the ATO, getting the once-over by an IRI [1 extra hour flying] to a "170A mock skill test with sign off" gold-plating... [2-3 extra hours, more if the school thinks you need more training before that]

If it is anything gold plated, it might be easier and cheaper to just renew before EASA kicks in and then do the extra revalidation each year instead.

moona
20th Dec 2011, 08:19
Ballbags.....

I can see it more likely being "170A mock skill test with sign off" 2-3 hours etc....

BillieBob
20th Dec 2011, 09:25
The requirements for refresher training before renewal of a rating are contained in AMC No 1 to FCL.625(c). The AMCs were due to be published by now but, unsurprisingly, EASA have missed yet another deadline and we are now unlikely to see them before the New Year. However, it is likely that the final version will not be much changed from the that submitted to the EC as part of the EASA Opinion.

AMC No 1 to FCL.625(c)
Renewal of instrument rating – refresher training
1. Paragraph (b)(1) of FCL.740 determines that if the instrument rating has
lapsed, the applicant shall go through refresher training at an approved
training organisation, to reach the level of proficiency needed to pass the
instrument element of the skill test prescribed in Appendix 9 to Part-FCL. The