PDA

View Full Version : Flying in Turbulence on the A320

C212-100
3rd Nov 2011, 16:56
Dear gentlemen,

In my current outfit we fly the A320 and most of our CPT push the Mach/Speed pushbutton when we face turbulence conditions when flying in cruise. Do you guys, flying the Bus or any other jet, do the exact same thing?

I am a newbie but I don't feel it to be safe to fly IAS at (say) FL390... On the A320 you should fly 250KIAS up to FL200 and 275/.76 above that altitude. Once you pass the speed crossover why should you fly IAS?... The fundament this decision on (by flying selected IAS) the temperature will not be an extra factor on the change of Mach Number and therefore th flight will be smoother and more safe...

Any thoughts on this one? Did I manage to explain myself?

Thanks in advance.

jriv
3rd Nov 2011, 18:07
I've done it before, but it has nothing to do with trying to smooth out the ride.

With "ALT CRZ" displayed on the FMA, the airspeed is allowed to fluctuate quite a bit. This is usually a good thing. But in turbulence, the speed will often go to the low limit, then thrust will surge, until you are up against the barber pole when thrust will decrease dramatically. THAT is actually unsafe. Pulling speed and selecting IAS forces the autothrust to maintain speed much more accurately.

TopBunk
3rd Nov 2011, 18:37
Some 6 years since I flew the A320, but can't you enter a new Cruise Level in the FMGS which will then change 'ALT CRZ' to 'ALT' which also changes the A/Thr responsiveness, which is the fundamental issue?

jriv
3rd Nov 2011, 19:50
Sure.

I think my technique might force the A/T to be even more responsive, but I haven't actually compared the two techniques.

TopBunk
3rd Nov 2011, 20:26
jriv

I agree that your technique would work, and have indeed used it myself!

I was just pointing out an alternative method.