PDA

View Full Version : Monarch buying BMI Baby ?

bill b
2nd Nov 2011, 19:48
Anyone else heard this rumour doing the rounds today ? :bored:

ib26uk
2nd Nov 2011, 19:53
Sorry but despite what I`d said earlier on the forums - There is NO TRUTH in this rumour

Totally_Bananas
2nd Nov 2011, 19:53
And where is Monarch going to get the cash from? They have just been bailed out........

Sir George Cayley
2nd Nov 2011, 21:06
But what about Bmi mainline? Can they survive or will LH look to cut and run?

Airbus321-200
2nd Nov 2011, 22:25
Monarch haven't been bailed out. Money was put into the company. Maybe to purchase something....

windytoo
2nd Nov 2011, 22:50
People talking about Monarch being bailed out have absolutely no idea how Monarch is run. A private Company being given money by its owner for whatever use is part of a business plan not a bailout, especially when the owner has a personal fortune of £1.7 Billion.

gorter
2nd Nov 2011, 23:12
I'm no expert on the ins and outs of the aviation industry.

But why would anyone buy bmi baby? What assets do they have? They don't own their aircraft. They have no heathrow slots? They have some airport slots but slots that can be gotten at the world slot conference (I've forgotten the exact title)

Yes they have some good staff, but no one that is enough of an asset for another airline to want to buy the whole company.

There are always rumours of someone buying bmi baby, but I just don't see it.

BOAC4ME
2nd Nov 2011, 23:32
Gorter, you may not be an expert but you are spot on in your analysis in my opinion.

Mod Kit
2nd Nov 2011, 23:37
Part of a deal may include the lease agreements for the old 737's. There is an infrastructure, route network and a body of staff which would only need premises to operate from. A quick rebrand to Fastjet........ and manage the old aircraft out, replacing them one by one with newer units. Baby losses are small compared to those of the parent company. Certainly capable of being turned around.